The Pros of Joining a Multiplayer Minecraft Server

With a new Minecraft update, Caves and Cliffs Part 2, right around the corner it is the perfect time to join a server. Many servers are starting a new world, and everyone is excited about the new terrain changes. If you haven’t played on a multiplayer server, also known as an SMP, you might be wondering whether its worth finding one. As someone who previously played on a single player world and who has been a part of The Parlor SMP for nearly a year, I have noticed a few key reasons I really enjoy playing on a server.

Singleplayer worlds can be amazing and super fun, whether in creative or survival. I really enjoyed my builds on my world and making stuff on my own. There was one thing I was missing, a community.

deep storage build on my single player world

Community

A community can mean different things to different people. Up until last year, my Minecraft community consisted of my siblings, who would every once in a while create a shared world together. It was lots of fun, but never really lasted long. The Minecraft community you join or create might be made up of family or irl friends. Or, like the community of the Parlor SMP, it might be made up of internet friends. While caution is advised when considering joining a server of complete strangers, making new friends can be very fun. A lot of YouTube Minecraft creators have patreon servers, so check out your favorite creator and see if they have one. Those servers can be good to join as everyone has a common interest – always a good icebreaker.

Resources

Two heads are better than one, especially on day one of Minecraft survival. Getting geared up on a single player can take several in game days, but if you go exploring with a few friends you’re likely to die less.

Later on in the lifetime of a world, having server or realm mates will mean you don’t always have to grind for large amounts of whatever building material you need. If you do end up needing to gather them yourself, your friends might come hang out and help. In most multiplayer servers, shops pop up. Even if they don’t sell exactly what you need you might find some useful tools on sale – enchanted books, beacons, tnt, etc. Also, such communities often set up farms for community use or personal, so you might find you can buy or trade for the use of farms as well.

Sharing Discoveries

On a single player world, the only way to show something you found in your world to your friends is by sharing screenshots or videos. On a multiplayer server, you can call over a server mate to check it out with you. Found a really cool cave or cliff? You can take someone there and show them in game instead of just a screenshot! Another form of discovery is building techniques or game mechanics. This is a reason to visit each others bases (after asking first, obviously). Everyone has a different background, and has a different set of Minecraft influences. So you might see a red stone circuit you’ve never encountered before! Or you can show your server mates a new to them way to decorate the inside of their house. The possibilities are endless.

Knowledge

helping Mom build her first Minecraft house!

Don’t know how to do something? On a server, the variety of players will mean either someone knows or knows how to help you trouble shoot. Whether you are struggling with a build, a technical build, or can’t find a resource – someone else on the server likely has the answer. The server I play on has a discord server (online group chat, basically – but a lot more complex) where we have a place to share info and ask questions about all sorts of things. I’ve had to ask for red stone help a few times, because my red stone skills were stuck in 2015… Don’t worry, I took a Redstone 101 class to fix that recently.

Showing off Skills

Much like the previous point, this one has to do with having other people able to share the world with you. As a builder personally, I don’t think screenshots truly capture the entirety of a build. It is so much fun to show a server mate around in game because they are experiencing the world the same way I was when building it.

They can see the perspective shifts, and the environment a lot better when looking at a build in game. Also, they have a better shot at finding any Easter eggs you’ve hidden! The build above is one of my favorites. It was a flower shop on the family realm a while back, right when 1.17 was released. Playing with moss and azalea for the first time while decorating a flower shop was so much fun!

Staying Engaged

Speaking of building, in a single player world it can be easy to get stuck or the world to become stale. When you are playing with others, there is a lot that can distract you. A shopping district of some type, community builds, the resources a friend is willing to pay but not grind for, etc. If you need to search for inspiration or just want a break from your own base, take a walk around the server.

Building this ship for a server mate gave me a much needed break from working on my base, and I came back with more energy and ideas than I had before. I was able to cram a lot of details in (such as cannonballs in a barrel in the hold) and it was a different style than my base.

Final Notes

Everyone plays Minecraft differently. A multiplayer server might not be for you. The more likely thing is that it will give you a new Minecraft experience that will change how yo play the game, in a good way. Hopefully this post has been helpful in highlighting the advantages of a server. If you have any questions, leave a comment below!

On a multiplayer server, you never know what will happen or the adventures you will end up going on!

Check out these awesome Minecraft resources:

The Spawn Chunks – A Minecraft Podcast

The Survival Guide Season 2 – YouTube Series

Published by ClaraFi

My name is Clara and I have a B.A. in Graphic Communication. I enjoy a range of projects, from more traditional art to graphic design. In the design realm, I particularly enjoy doing layout design, creating both posters and multipage documents. Of the traditional arts, drawing is my personal favorite. In my spare time, I also enjoy photography and painting. At The Sky’s Limit is my place to share my hobbies and write creatively. I also stream on Twitch - playing games, working on art, and playing games with friends. I play on a Minecraft server, The Parlor SMP. I also do commissions - often on stream!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started